Skipping the Salad Bar

When we were in law school and graduate school, respectively, my friend and then-roommate Caitlin and I consumed at least one-third of our weekly meals from the Whole Foods salad bar and prepared foods section. We’d camp out at our favorite round table, near the column with the power strip, and chip away at our reading and research, eating with one hand and turning pages with the other. Now that I have slightly more free time, I’m just as likely to spend an evening reading through dinner (nerd!)- except it’s The Hunger Games on my Kindle instead of photocopied journal articles.

When dinner is getting in the way of the D.E.A.R (drop everything and read) portion of your day, I recommend this sandwich. The brie makes it just luxurious enough so you don’t feel you’re missing out on a legitimate dinner, and most importantly, it can be assembled quickly, leaving you with ample time to become engrossed in a book.

Apple, Brie, and Turkey Sandwich

1/2 pretzel baguette
Spicy honey mustard
1/4 gala apple, cored and sliced thinly
5 thin slices brie cheese
2-3 pieces thinly sliced oven roasted turkey
Handful of arugula or spring greens

Slice the pretzel baguette in half lengthwise, leaving the two halves connected. Spread honey mustard generously on both sides of the roll. Layer apple and brie slices, add turkey and a generous handful of greens.

Eat with your left hand, using your right to click “next page” on your Kindle.

Serves 1 bookworm.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Skipping the Salad Bar

  1. Natalie

    Besides that this sounds delicious, I love that you’re reading, or have read, The Hunger Games. I can’t wait for the movie. The books were AWESOME. I haven’t been kept up that late reading in a long time. And I blame Mel, she is the one who referred me to them.

  2. Caitlin

    Thank god they waited until after we graduated to cover up that outlet. The sandwich sounds delicious. You know how I love my soft cheeses (and how I can cut them so smoothly with the knife you gave me). Miss you lady.

Leave a Reply

