I’m Back! And, Perfect Popcorn

First things first… I’m back from two weeks in Argentina!  It was an amazing trip, filled with steak, wine, dulce de leche, and sunshine.  Much more on this to come….

Wine: Stage 1

In the meantime, however, in honor of the birthday of the queen of stovetop popcorn (that would be my mother), I am sharing her best techniques for perfect popped corn.  Did you ever notice how microwave popcorn has that slightly plastic squeak when you bite into it?  That’s… not good.  I think popcorn deserves a little more respect.  Not only is it one of the oldest edible plants native to North America, it is also the official snack food of Illinois.

So let me help you be a better American with my simple guide to better popcorn making.  If you are dedicated and/or obsessive, designate a three quart saucepan for popcorn-making only.  Otherwise, your regular three quart saucepan will suffice.

The sweetest popcorn bowl ever... a Valentine gift from my little peeps!

Perfect Stovetop Popcorn

  1. Choose a light flavorless oil, such as canola or grapeseed, adding enough to your three quart pan to coat approximately half the surface of the bottom.
  2. Add enough popcorn to cover the bottom of the pan in a single layer.  Heirloom varieties recommended!
  3. Turn heat to medium high- you want the flame to just barely touch the pan.  Set the lid in place, leaving one side propped slightly to allow steam to escape.
  4. Don’t walk away from the stove!  When the “pops” are three seconds apart, remove the pan from the heat, leaving the lid on, and give it a moment to finish popping.
  5. Pour the popcorn into a bowl (preferably heart-shaped), and season generously with sea salt and a teaspoon of dried rosemary.
  6. Enjoy in bed, watching Jerseylicious (optional).
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’m Back! And, Perfect Popcorn

  1. Mom

    A dedicated pot is paramount! Like a well seasoned iron skillet, a well seasoned popcorn pot is a fundamental kitchen item.

  2. Emily, you’ll have to give me a tutorial the next time I’m at your house. I’m fearful to try this on my own!

Leave a Reply

