Cookies You’ll Love

I tend to be a generous baker.  If you’re in the vicinity when I’m firing up the KitchenAid, you will likely end up with an ersatz care package filled with baked goods.  This is mostly because the production of treats in my kitchen far outpaces any reasonable expectation of consumption by one person.   Also because of a valuable lesson I learned about gluttony last summer.  I made pear cupcakes that were so delicious I decided to keep the entire dozen myself rather than bringing them to the office as originally intended, and left them unfrosted on the counter, where they promptly fermented in the sun.

So when I set out to deliberately bake thank-you gifts, I want them to communicate a message: “I truly appreciate your kindness”, not “here are the leftovers of a weekend baking project”.  And, as I have been raising money for my first Race for the Cure event, I really have been overwhelmed by the generosity of my family and friends.  In December, I baked holiday pies for all my donors, so for a February fundraiser, I searched for the perfect Valentine treat.

A Valentine mise en place

These cookies are nothing short of stellar, and the dough is seriously addictive.  So if you’re making these to give away, I suggest leaving the house while the unbaked cookies rest in the fridge.

Momofuku Compost Cookies
From Momofuku Milk Bar, via The Amateur Gourmet

1 cup butter
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1 Tbsp corn syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp Kosher salt
1 1/2 cups bite sized pieces of sweet add-ins (i.e. chocolate chips, candy bars, etc.)
1 1/2 cups crushed salty add-ins (I used pretzels, Lays potato chips, and oyster crackers)

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter, sugars and corn syrup with the paddle attachment on medium high for 2-3 minutes.  Reduce speed to low, add eggs and vanilla. Increase mixing speed to medium-high, and beat for ten full minutes. Your batter will be a lovely pale white color, and will have nearly doubled in size.

After 10 minutes of high speed mixing...

Reduce speed to low after ten minutes, and add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix as briefly as possible, just until your dough comes together and all the dry ingredients have been incorporated.

On same low speed, add your sweet add-ins and mix for 30 seconds until evenly distributed.  Add your salty snacks last, being careful not to overwork the dough.

Using a small (2 Tbsp) ice cream scoop, spoon the dough onto a Silpat/parchment lined baking sheet.  Once scooped, cover the baking sheet with plastic wrap and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour, up to 1 week.  Don’t skimp on refrigeration, and DO NOT bake from room temperature!

Patience will be rewarded

Heat oven to 400F.  Bake 9-11 min.  Cool cookies completely on the baking sheet, and store in an airtight container for up to five days (ha!).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cookies You’ll Love

  1. Cookies + oyster crackers? MY HEAD EXPLODED.

Leave a Reply

