Where I’ve Been…

… starting a new job that’s keeping me busy (in a good way).

… spending Christmas on the beach in Cozumel with my family.

Cozumel

… celebrating my Grandpa’s 90th birthday.

(That’s a 90th birthday candy cabin, complete with “flagstone” chimney and walkway, a fire pit, and landscaping, constructed by my creative aunt, uncle, and cousins. It was truly a family project – my aunt told me she would wake up in the morning thinking about what she could add to the cabin that day, and there were multiple Josie-directed trips to the specialty candy store along the way. The family that crafts together… makes some creative birthday gifts.)

… binge watching Game of Thrones, hanging out with my niece, etc, etc, etc….

Anyway, I certainly have not been starving while on hiatus! In fact, I joined a Winter CSA from Harvest Moon Farms, and have been reveling in a bounty of winter storage crops from their Wisconsin farm and seasonal citrus and greens from their partner farm in northern California. And eggs – there are always fresh eggs when I am involved.

As I wrote in my very first post on Big Fork Little Spoon over a year ago, the first rule of CSA membership is that any recipe must include multiple share box items. Luckily, my CSA has been hitting it out of the park in terms of providing with items that naturally pair together, and when I received kale and blood oranges in my first delivery, I knew there was an amazing Italy-via-California-inspired salad in my future. This Italian Kale Salad is super fresh and easy to prepare. Packed with power foods and just enough indulgent ingredients to make a filling meal, it’s an ideal weeknight supper.

Italian Kale Salad
Inspired by recipes at Shockingly Delicious and Healthy Green Kitchen

1 bunch Lacinato (Dinosaur) kale
Best quality olive oil
Juice of half a lemon
3 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese, or to taste
2 large or 3 small blood oranges
1 avocado
Pine nuts
Balsamic vinegar

Wash and dry kale, and remove tough center stems. Roll the kale leaves and cut into thin ribbons (that’s chiffonade to you experienced cooks). In a large bowl, drizzle kale with olive oil, working olive oil in with your hands. Place the kale in the refrigerator to soften while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

In a small bowl, combine lemon juice, parmesan cheese, and a splash of olive oil. Whisk to combine.

Supreme blood oranges, removing peel and pith and cutting orange segments free of the membrane. If your blood oranges are large, cut the segments into bite-sized pieces. Cut the avocado into small pieces.

Remove kale from refrigerator and toss with lemon parmesan dressing. Toss to combine. Add blood oranges, avocado, and pine nuts. Finish with a drizzle of olive oil and a splash of balsamic vinegar and gently mix. Serve immediately.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Where I’ve Been…

  1. yum yum YUM. looks absolutely amazing.

    and i’m so glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

